ACS WA 1962 Awards Winners Announced

1st December 2023


  • The winners of the 1962 Awards were announced at the annual ACS WA Dennis Moore Oration 2023 event.
  • These prestigious awards, sponsored by Professor Dennis Moore AM, showcase the best and brightest minds in WA and are a celebration of local talent, student excellence and the next generation of ICT professionals.
ACS WA 1962 Awards template  - 1991 - ACS WA 1962 Awards 1920x 1080px

The ACS WA Dennis Moore Oration and 1962 Awards Committee are proud to announce the distinguished winners of the ACS 1962 Awards, revealed at the WA Dennis Moore Oration 2023 event. These outstanding individuals have demonstrated exceptional contributions to the field, embodying the spirit of excellence that defines our WA IT community.



The prize celebrates the year in which the first digital computer was installed in Western Australia and is sponsored by Dennis Moore FACS. This is the 12th year that the ACS WA Branch has presented the 1962 Prize, which is for the top individual university undergraduate Computing/Information Systems student in Western Australia.

🏆 WINNER: Shuang Li

Shuang completed a Bachelor of Science with First Class Honours majoring in Cyber Security and Forensics from Murdoch University.

For her Honours thesis, Shuang investigated the privacy and security of health data in remote patient monitoring systems. She proposed a solution based on data collection, blockchain technology and homomorphic encryption for securing patient data during capture, transmission and processing.

With interests in cyber security, artificial intelligence and networking, Shuang is passionate about learning and sharing knowledge. She is working towards her dream of lecturing and helping students.

Shuang undertook a cadetship while studying, where she continues to work while also lecturing at Murdoch University.



The medal is named in honour of the year that Western Australia's first internally programmed digital computer was installed by Professor Dennis Moore FACS. This medal is awarded to the most outstanding completed Doctoral research (eg PhD) in Western Australia in the field of Information Technology and Computer Science and was awarded in 2019 for the first time.

🏆 WINNER: Dr Manou Rosenberg

Manou graduated from the University of Western Australia. Her thesis addresses the problem of planning electricity distribution networks in rural areas.

Electricity distribution has traditionally been based on central large-scale generation that are not ideal for sparsely distributed consumers. The thesis focused on the identification of isolated parts of the network, optimisation of connecting lines and consideration of evolutionary compared to standard algorithms. The result was a move from long power lines, leading instead to microgrids and stand-alone power systems for regional areas.

Manou is a research associate at the Centre for Optimisation and Decision Science at Curtin University, where she continues to work on optimisation techniques for real-world problems.

She gives back to the community. For example, in Germany she tutored Afghan refugees in mathematics and currently she volunteers at the Girls Programming Network in Perth.



New in 2023, the 1962 Educator awards recognises teachers and lecturers that have received awards from other organisations. Their commitment to shaping the next generation of professionals has not only left an indelible mark on the educational landscape but has also inspired countless individuals. These are the dedicated people who make the other awards possible.

The 1962 Educators recognised for 2023 in alphabetical order:

  • Donna Buckley - John Curtin College of the Arts
  • Michelle Chomiak - St Marks Community School
  • Dr Michelle Ellis - Edith Cowan University School of Science
  • Vinicius Madeiros - National Institute of Technology
  • Dr Chris McDonald - CSSE, University of Western Australia


Congratulations to all the winners for their outstanding contributions to the ACS WA IT community.